Kate Khavari | A Botanist's Guide to Parties and Poisons

A Botanist's Guide to Parties and Poisons

(1 Reviews)
Login to Add to Reading List
Thora Casper hand.henry_505
have this book in their bookshelf!
Description

Saffron Everleigh is in a race against time to free her wrongly accused professor before he goes behind bars forever. Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber, Kate Khavari’s debut historical mystery is a fast-paced, fearless adventure.

London, 1923. Newly minted research assistant Saffron Everleigh attends a dinner party for the University College of London. While she expects to engage in conversations about the university's large expedition to the Amazon, she doesn’t expect Mrs. Henry, one of the professors’ wives to drop to the floor, poisoned by an unknown toxin.

Dr. Maxwell, Saffron’s mentor, is the main suspect, having had an explosive argument with Dr. Henry a few days prior. As evidence mounts against Dr. Maxwell and the expedition's departure draws nearer, Saffron realizes if she wants her mentor's name cleared, she’ll have to do it herself.

Joined by enigmatic Alexander Ashton, a fellow researcher, Saffron uses her knowledge of botany as she explores steamy greenhouses, dark gardens, and deadly poisons. Will she be able to uncover the truth or will her investigation land her on the murderer’s list?

Historical fiction
Mystery

Additional Information about the book

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

ISBN: 13: ‎978-1639100071

Word Count: 91200 words

Length: 304 pages

Language: English

Release Date: June 7, 2022

Available as: Ebook,Paperback

Loved this book? Contribute to this page as a fan!

Popular Quotes

No Quotes Found

Popular PageTurners #ReadBetweenTheLines

Check these famous pages, events and instances seen through the eyes of the readers and their insights! Warning: This may contain spoilers!

No PageTurners found. Got something to share? Add a Page Turner

Fan Art

Drawings, Art and Images created by Fans and Creators, inspired by the iconic scenes, chapters and characters of this book!

No Fan Art Found. Share one with everyone!

Video Reviews

Just read this book or considering reading it? Hear from those who have read it!

No Video Reviews / Testimonials Found. Please add one if you liked this book!

Reviews and Ratings

5
4
3
2
1
5
1  Ratings 1

1 Reviews

5

August 9, 2022
Character Development
Storyline
Writing
Recommendable

The title and cover art alone were enough to spark my interest in this book. It didn't let me down. I loved every single minute of reading this book! Saffron is a fantastic heroine and I rooted for her the whole way. I also liked that aside from a few mentions of the time period, this story could have been set in any time, even today. It felt fresh and real and relevant all the way to the perfect ending. I absolutely cannot wait for another book in this series!

Login to Like and Hype
0 Likes
0 Share
Successfully shared on your feed!